© Copyright 2019 Mecanum Inc.

2444 Bonin Sherbrooke (Qc) J1K 1C4, Canada
(819) 346-5666  |  info@mecanum.com
  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • LinkedIn Social Icône

Off-The-Shelf Accessories

Any concerns about your experimental setup for material characterization?  Tell us what you want to do. If our off-the-shelf devices can't meet your objective, we will design and fabricate the needed accessory to make it work.

CIRCULAR CUTTER

Mecanum’s circular cutters allow you to cut your foam to the recommended diameter for the following Mecanum’s equipments: 

 

  • Impedance/transmission tube

  • Airflow resistance meter

  • Tortuosity meter

  • Porosity meter

  • Quasi-static mechanical analyzer

 

Also, on request, Mecanum can provide circular cutters according to your desired diameter.

 

POROUS MATERIAL SLICER

Mecanum porous material slicer allows you to easily slice your porous materials to the recommended thickness for the following equiments:

  • Impedance and transmission tube

  • Airflow resistance meter

  • Tortuosity meter

  • Porosity meter

  • Quasi-static mechanical analyzer

Available in the following diameters: 29 mm, 44.44 mm, 100 mm, and custom

 

DIGITAL PISTON

Do not waste any more time measuring your acoustic material thickness with a caliper, Mecanum’s brand new digital piston will take accurate measurements quickly and smoothly for you.

 

RESISTIVE SCREEN AND FABRIC HOLDER

Are you planning on measuring sound absorption or sound transmission of thin screens, fabrics, and clamping plates on air cavity backing of variable depths? Do you have problem controlling acoustical edge leaks when measuring the absorption of thin porous materials? Do you need to identify the flow resistance and porosity of permeable screens from impedance/transmission tube testings? Mecanum’s resistive screen and fabric holder is what you need. Combined with FOAM-X, you will be able to characterize and model any screen or fabric with high accuracy.

 
 

ENVIRO WEATHER STATION

Mecanum’s ENVIRO Weather Station allows you to measure the atmospheric conditions of the air (i.e. pressure, temperature, humidity) in order to deduce their acoustic and thermodynamic properties. The integration in our software suite is completely seamless (i.e. automatic reading of the weather station when the software needs it).

In addition, the Enviro Weather Station measures the following characteristics:

  • Speed of sound

  • Density

  • Characteristic impedance

  • Prandtl number

  • Specific heat at constant pressure

  • Specific heat at constant volume

  • Heat capacity ratio

  • Thermal conductivity

  • Dynamic viscosity

  • Kinematic viscosity

MODIFICATION OF EXISTING IMPEDANCE TUBE TO THE

3-MICROPHONE METHOD

Mecanum modifies existing tube such as B&K impedance tube to the latest transmission measurement technologies using the three-microphone two-cavity method (3M2C) which uses equations of ASTM E2611. The method is published in peer reviewed Journal of the Acoustical Society of America. Follow the links to access the 3M2C method, and its application for porous material characterization.

GRIDS AND RINGS

Especially designed rings to minimize acoustical or airflow leaks around the sample in impedance/transmission tube and airflow resistance meter. The rings can be installed on the front, the rear, or both the front and rear faces of the sample to test. Different sizes are available. Each ring is distributed in pair.

Specially designed grids to support limp materials (eg. fluffy fibers, granules) or to control thickness of fiber materials (eg. glasswool, felt, shoddy). They also minimize edge acoustical or airflow leaks. The grids can be installed on the front, the rear, or both the front and rear faces of the sample to test.

Note that Mecanum’s TUBE-X software may also eliminate the effects of rings and grids. This allows the user to determine with accuracy the intrinsic acoustic properties of the tested material sample only.

 
 

SIGMA ENCLOSER

The resistance meter measures a very small variation in pressure. In addition to providing additional protection for your equipment (dust or shock), this enclosure protects it from drafts that can affect the accuracy and repeatability of the measurement. Drafts can be caused by ventilation systems or simply the movement of people near the equipment.

 

VERIFICATION AND CALIBRATION SAMPLES

Verification and calibration samples are available for:

  • Impedance and transmission tube

  • Airflow resistance meter

  • Porosity meter

  • Quasi-static mechanical analyzer

  • Fabric permeability system

 

More Information

© Copyright 2019 Mecanum Inc.

2444 Bonin Sherbrooke (Qc) J1K 1C4, Canada
(819) 346-5666  |  info@mecanum.com
  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • LinkedIn Social Icône

Accessoires en vente libre

Avez-vous des inquiétudes concernant l’installation expérimentale pour la caractérisation de vos matériaux? Vous n’avez qu’à nous rejoindre afin de nous communiquer vos intentions et vos projets.

COUTEAUX DE DÉCOUPE

Les couteaux de Mecanum vous permettent de découper votre mousse selon le diamètre recommandé pour les équipements Mecanum : 

 

Également, sur demande, Mecanum peut vous faire des couteaux selon le diamètre désiré.

 

TRANCHEUSE À MATÉRIAUX POREUX

La trancheuse à matériaux poreux de Mecanum vous permet de trancher facilement et avec précision vos échantillons en fonction de l’épaisseur recommandée, et ce, pour les équipements suivants :

  • Tube d’impédance et de transmission
  • Résistivimètre

  • Tortuosimètre

  • Porosimètre

  • Analyseur mécanique quasi statique

Disponible dans les diamètres suivants : 29 mm, 44.44 mm, 100 mm et sur mesure

 

PISTON NUMÉRIQUE

Ne perdez plus de temps à mesurer l’épaisseur de votre matériau acoustique avec un vernier, le tout nouveau piston numérique de Mecanum prendra des mesures précises rapidement et en douceur pour vous.

 

PORTE-ÉCHANTILLON À ÉCRAN RÉSISTIF ET À TISSU

Planifiez-vous de mesurer l’absorption et l’indice d’affaiblissement de minces écrans, de tissus et de plaques sur des cavités d’air de différentes profondeurs? Avez-vous des difficultés à contrôler les fuites acoustiques latérales lorsque vous mesurez l’absorption de minces matériaux poreux? Avez-vous besoin d’identifier la résistance à l’écoulement et la porosité des écrans perméables à partir d’essais en tube d’impédance/transmission?

Le porte-échantillon à écran résistif de Mecanum est l’outil dont vous aurez besoin. Combiné au logiciel FOAM-X, vous serez en mesure de caractériser et de modéliser avec une grande précision toutes sortes d’écrans et de tissus.

 
 

STATION MÉTÉO ENVIRO

La station météo ENVIRO permet de mesurer les conditions atmosphériques de l’air (i.e. pression, température, humidité) afin de déduire ses propriétés acoustiques et thermodynamiques. L’intégration dans notre suite de logiciel est complètement transparente.

De plus, la station météo ENVIRO permet de calculer les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • La vitesse du son

  • La masse volumique

  • L’impédance caractéristique acoustique

  • Le nombre de Prandtl

  • La capacité thermique isochore

  • La capacité thermique isobare

  • Le coefficient de Laplace (indice adiabatique)

  • La conductivité thermique

  • La viscosité dynamique

  • La viscosité cinématique

MODIFICATION DES TUBES D’IMPÉDANCE EXISTANTS À LA MÉTHODE À TROIS MICROPHONES

Mecanum modifie les tubes existants, comme le tube d’impédance B&K, pour pouvoir utiliser la méthode à trois microphones deux cavités (3M2C) qui utilisent les mêmes équations que celles de la norme ASTM E2611. Cette méthode est publiée dans le Journal of the Acoustical Society of America. Afin d’accéder au lien, cliquer sur 3M2C method et application for porous material characterization.

GRILLES ET ANNEAUX

Les anneaux sont conçus pour minimiser les fuites autour de l’échantillon dans les tubes d’impédance/transmission et dans le résistivimètre. Les anneaux peuvent être installés en avant et/ou en arrière de l’échantillon à tester. Différents formats sont disponibles. 

Les grilles sont conçues spécialement pour supporter les matériaux souples (ex. : fibres duveteuses, granulés) ou pour contrôler l’épaisseur des matériaux fibreux (ex. : laine de verre, feutre). Elles permettent, tout comme les anneaux, de minimiser les fuites autour de l’échantillon. Les grilles peuvent être installées en avant et/ou en arrière de l’échantillon à tester.

Notez que l’utilisation du logiciel TUBE-X de Mecanum permet d’enlever les effets causés par les anneaux et les grilles durant le processus. Cela permet de déterminer avec précision les propriétés acoustiques intrinsèques de l’échantillon testé.

 
 

ENCOFFREMENT POUR SIGMA

Le résistivimètre mesure une très faible variation de pression. En plus d'offrir une protection additionnelle à votre équipement (poussière ou choque), cet encoffrement le protège des courants d'air qui peuvent affecter la précision et la répétabilité de la mesure. Les courants d'air peuvent être causés par des systèmes de ventilation ou simplement le mouvement de personnes à proximité de l'équipement.

 

ÉCHANTILLONS DE VÉRIFICATION ET DE CALIBRATION

Des échantillons de vérification et de calibration sont disponibles pour les équipements suivants :

  • Tube d’impédance et de transmission

  • Résistivimètre

  • Porosimètre

  • Analyseur mécanique quasi statique

  • Système de mesure de la perméabilité des tissus

 

De plus amples informations